Tuesday, June 08, 2010

New INEC Chairman named

Professor Attahiru Jega has now been officially announced as the new Chairman of the Nigerian Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC). Attahiru's appointment was approved at the meeting of the Council of State which was held today.

He will be taking over the office of the Ex-Chairman Maurice Iwu who was sacked due to the high level of corruption and malpractices associated with the past elections conducted by INEC when he was still in office.

The change however arises in respect to the declaration of a free and fair election come 2011 by the President - Goodluck Jonathan.

Attahiru Jega is a professor of Political Science and also the Vice Chancellor of The Bayero University, Kano.


1 comment:

ayodele said...

A credible leader and an analyst of such should be recommended for that post.............sir remember that a political sagacity can never be garrulous but automatically jingoism: olonilebi lancelot ayodele

Blog Widget by LinkWithin